Submit this form
Home News Videos Music Photos Facebook Twitter Friends Newsletter Podcasts Mobile RSS
AS Vita's Firmin Mubele Wins CAF African Player of the Year Award - January 8, 2015
AS Vita celebrate their win against CS Sfaxien in Kinshasa on 9.21.2014
Firmin Mubele celebrates with AS vita teammates their win against CS Sfaxien in Kinshasa on 9.21.2014 | Enlarge
Ivorian midfielder Yaya Toure was on Thursday, 8 January 2015 crowned African Player of the Year for the fourth time in a row.

The England-based midfielder achieved the historic feat of being the first player to be decorated African Player of the Year for four successive times at the Glo-CAF Awards Gala held in the Nigerian capital, Lagos.

Ex-Cameroon star, Samuel Eto’o is the other person to have won it four times, completing a hat-trick from 2003 to 2005 and later in 2010.

The Ivorian eased past Gabonese forward Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Nigeria goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama for the most prestigious individual honour in African football, decided by votes from Head Coaches or Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF.

Toure, who previously won the title in (2011, 2012 and 2013) polled 175 votes against 120 by Aubameyang whilst Enyeama settled for third-place with 105 points.

Spotting black pants with black blazers to match, an elated Toure was presented with the prize by CAF President Issa Hayatou and assisted by Emmanuel Uduaghan, Governor of Delta State.

An emotion-filled Toure said: “I thank Allah for all the achievements. I have been blessed all these years. I also thank my fans.”

For the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa), DR Congo forward Firmin Mubele Ndombe got the crown at the expense of Algerian duo, Akram Djahnit and El Hedi Belamieri in a keen contest.

The AS Vita forward garnered 136 points, seven richer than Djahnit. Belamieri finished in third position with 126 points.

The ceremony was attended by CAF President Issa Hayatou, members of the CAF Executive Committee amongst other stakeholders.

The show to honour Africa’s finest football personalities was a fusion of musical performances from renowned artistes including sensational twins, P-Square who entertained the guests with their captivating dance moves.

The masked one and Afro-Calypso originator, Lagbaja, also performed just “Shake,” and “Ada Ada” crooner, Flavour, ASEM from Ghana, Fally Ipupa of DR Congo, global jazz icon Hugh Masekela, Hakim of Egypt, Soweto Gospel Choir from South Africa and Tanzania award winning singer, Diamond.

The Women’s Player of the Year went to Nigeria midfielder Asisat Oshoala, who also scooped the Youth Player of the Year prize. The Super Falcons also got the Women’s National Team of the Year award.

Algeria had their stellar year rewarded with the National Team of the Year whilst local side, ES Setif was named Club of the Year and their coach Kheireddine Madoui. Algeria midfielder Yacine Brahimi was crowned the Most Promising Talent of the Year for his exploits during the year under review.

There was an emotional part to the ceremony as three surviving members of Oryx Douala class of 1964, maiden winners of the CAF Champions League picked up the Legend award. The trio; Epete Maurice, Colbert Kotto and Moukoko De Cofiance accompanied by President of the club, Moudouthe to pick up the prize.

Below are the full winners

African Player of the Year

Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire and Manchester City)

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa

Firmin Mubele Ndombe (DR Congo and AS Vita)

Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels)

Youth Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels)

Most Promising Talent

Yacine Brahimi (Algeria and Porto)

Coach of the Year

Kheireddine Madoui (ES Setif)

National Team of the Year


Women’s National Team of the Year


Club of the Year

ES Setif (Algeria)

Referee of the Year

Papa Bakary Gassama (Gambia)

Football Leader of the Year

Moise Katumbi Chapwe - President of TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

African Legend award

Oryx Club (Cameroon) – winners of the maiden edition of CAF Champions League 1964

Stade Malien (Mali) - runner up of the maiden edition of CAF Champion’s League 1964

Platinum Award

Dr Kwame Nkrumah (First President of Ghana)

His Excellency Goodluck Jonthan (President of Nigeria)

CAF Finest XI

Goalkeeper: Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria)

Defenders: Jean Kasulula (DR Congo), Mehdi Benatia (Morocco), Stephane Mbia (Cameroon), Kwadwo Asamoah (Ghana)

Midfielders: Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire), Yacine Brahimi (Algeria), Fakhreddine Ben Youssef (Tunisia), Ahmed Musa (Nigeria)

Forwards: Asamoah Gyan (Ghana), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon)


Raïs M'Bolhi (Algeria), Firmin Mubele Ndombe (DR Congo), Ferdjani Sassi (Tunisia), Yao Kouasi Gervais ‘Gervinho (Cote d’Ivoire), Abdelrahman Fetori (Libya), Akram Djahnit (Algeria), Roger Assalé (Cote d’Ivoire)

Related articles

  1. DR Congo Citizens Head to Polls to Elect President, Members of Parliament (December 20, 2023)
  2. Florent Ibenge resigns as Leopards head coach (August 7, 2019)
  3. Vita Club arrive in Morocco for Confederation Cup finals first leg against Raja Casablanca (November 19, 2018)
  4. 2019 Africa Cup of Nations: DR Congo to play for qualification against Liberia (November 19, 2018)
  5. Bemba, Katumbi renew their support for joint opposition presidential candidate Fayulu (November 16, 2018)
  6. Oppositioin leaders pick Martin Fayulu as joint presidential candidate (November 11, 2018)
  7. Bemba says Katumbi should be allowed to run for president (August 4, 2018)
  8. Moise Katumbi blocked from entering DR Congo (August 3, 2018)
  9. V Club Crowned Congo Champions (July 12, 2018)
  10. AS Vita to play CS la Mancha in Confederation Cup (March 21, 2018)
  11. Mazembe drawn against Difaa El Jadidi, ES Setif in Champions League (March 21, 2018)
  12. DR Congo ranked 3rd in Africa: FIFA (February 15, 2018)
  13. DRC Seeks Arrest of Presidential Candidate Moise Katumbi (May 19, 2016)
  14. DR Congo Win Second African Nations Championship (February 7, 2016)
  15. DR Congo reach final of African Nations Championship (February 3, 2016)
  16. DR Congo Beat Rwanda to Reach CHAN Semifinals (January 30, 2016)
  17. TP Mazembe Beat USM Alger to Win 5th Champions League Title (November 8, 2015)
  18. TP Mazembe beat El Merreikh 3-0 to reach Champions League final (October 4, 2015)
  19. El Merreikh beat TP Mazembe 2-1 in Champions League semis first leg (September 27, 2015)
  20. DR Congo finish third at the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations (February 7, 2015)
  21. Cote d'Ivoire beat DR Congo 3-1 to reach Africa Cup of Nations final (February 4, 2015)
  22. DR Congo win classic tie to reach Africa Cup of Nations semi-finals (January 31, 2015)
  23. Afcon 2015: Cape Verde, DR Congo in stalemate (January 22, 2015)
  24. Mbokani, Mandanda named in DR Congo squad (December 30, 2014)
  25. DR Congo Drawn With Zambia, Cape Verde, Tunisia for 2015 Africa Cup of Nations (December 3, 2014)
  26. DR Congo Qualify for 2015 Africa Cup of Nations (November 20, 2014)
  27. Setif Crowned African Champions for the Second Time (November 1, 2014)
  28. All Square in First Leg of Champions League Final: AS Vita 2-2 ES Setif (October 27, 2014)
  29. Setif Shock Mazembe Into Champions League Final (September 28, 2014)
  30. Vita Club Reach Champions League Final (September 27, 2014)

Live TV Congo Radio en ligne Radio
Available on App Store
Get it on Google Play

Contact Us | About Us | Édition en Français | French Edition

© All rights reserved.